A couple of new bits of kit…

First of all, a belated Happy New Year to you all.

I treated myself to a Fuji X10 for Christmas… What an outstanding little camera it is! I’ve been after something small enough to fit in a pocket and to take with me when I’m in work and after doing a considerable amount of research, the X10 was the most suitable candidate.

So far, it’s been used for just about everything from landscapes right through to staged portraits. In case you think that a little compact camera can’t be used for anything other than snaps, hopefully the image below should make you think twice!

Here’s the info behind the shot…

Canon 580EXII from right through 42in Octabox at 1/8 power on manual
Canon 430EXII from above left through 24in softbox at 1/2 power on manual

Fired with Yong Nuo RF-602 Poverty Wizards

The second new toy was bought for my birthday by Ayesha… I’d been looking at the Canon EF50mm f1.4 for a while but never got around to acquiring one. I was torn between the Canon and Sigma versions and the reviews I read seemed evenly matched. In the end, it was a combination of price and availability that clinched the deal.

~ by Si on January 31, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
